Poetry from The Lady of the Pier: Advice from the Moon

Effrosyni's blog

Today, I’d like to share with you one of the three poems that are featured in my second novel, ‘The Lady of the Pier – The Ebb’. It is called ‘Advice from the Moon’. I wrote it in my 20s. Late one evening, I was sitting in my family house on the balcony, alone with my thoughts, admiring the night sky. It was a cloudy night but the moonlight shone strongly. It was such a beautiful site that it overwhelmed me. I went inside to fetch my notebook and wrote the whole poem in one sitting. I hope you will enjoy it.

moonlight_by_sea_by_touzenleesouichirou-d3ahz7v

ADVICE FROM THE MOON

Mother of tides / your magic word the sea abides
Healer of pain / look at my heart, the wretched, the slain.

Of gathering clouds you slide on the silk
Of worrying souls the bread and the milk
You are; as you were and…

View original post 296 more words

One thought on “Poetry from The Lady of the Pier: Advice from the Moon

Leave a Reply

