Hope

Richard M. Ankers

Hope you like this. I don’t often put my stories on here, but this was recently featured in the wonderful The Tophat Raven magazine. Check it out and show them some support.

Dappled light cast mysterious shadows over the valley floor. It was more than a dream, more than I deserved. I inhaled deeply of the fresh, salt-tinged air and shielded my eyes from the burning sun. Blinking twice, then refocusing, I realised myself to be gazing upon perfection. Had I stumbled across a new Eden? Here, as I crested this last ridge, had I found that which was thought lost? I was one footstep closer to the end of my pilgrimage, but it felt like I had already taken a giant stride into heaven.
Cumulous clouds dodged playfully overhead in and out of the sun’s rays as though children in a game of hide and seek. I stared in…

View original post 2,034 more words

Leave a Reply

