The Lost Letter #dailypost #history #poetry #photography

poetry penned in moon dust

As I wrote to you these words

tears congealed with blackened ink

this goodbye so hard to write

how I wished I could re-take

*

You went away to war

tore my heart in two

the uniform I sewed

no longer resembles blue

*

A woman fights a war

it’s not with guns and spears

we fight inside ourselves

clinging to what is dear

*

The day I found her lace

I wished it wasn’t so

Perfumed you and adored

it dealt the final blow

*

Tucked beneath her favor

I’m leaving you this note

 wrenched from inside you see

our covenant you broke 

*

So many times I wished

I’d never seen that thing

for what it made me do

I threw away your ring

*

You wrote to me at length

declared unfailing love

how could you still claim that

with all that had been done

*

On…

View original post 570 more words

Leave a Reply

