Mr. Popper’s Penguins: An Odd Children’s Book

The Bookshelf of Emily J.

I came across Mr. Popper’s Penguins (1938) by Richard and Florence Atwater in a display of the children’s section of our library.  It looked cute, and I knew that somebody had made a movie of it starring Jim Carey.  We gave it a try.  Although my eight-year-old daughter claimed to like it and kept asking me to read it to her, whenever I did and then paused to talk about what was happening in the narrative, she had no idea what was going on, which is not hard to follow.  I think it was a little boring to her because she’s almost too old for it.  I thought the book was both creative and strange.

It is about Mr. Popper, a simple house painter who finds himself bored during the winter months.  He also fancies himself a wannabe explorer of the Antarctic, but he has never had the chance to…

View original post 378 more words

Leave a Reply

